The Best Chili Recipe

Tuesday night, I set out to make a chili recipe that I found in a Crossfit Journal issue about the Zone Diet. They conveniently listed how to make this for both the 3 block diet (me) and the 5 block diet (my husband). Unfortunately, it just says “3 servings” for each – so I didn’t know how big a serving was. This meant if I wanted us to have the right proportions, I was going to have to cook them separately. So I did.

As I started adding the ingredients, the “chili” looked more like meat for sloppy joes than a soup, which is what I associate with chili. It needed more liquid. Since I had not added all the ingredients yet, I decided to swap some of the beans for canned tomatoes. The Zone sees these both as carbs, so in my opinion, equal swap. It ended up being really delicious!

This is the total chili recipe, not separated, since I can tell you how much a serving is.

Modified Chili Recipe
Makes 9 servings; 1 serving = 2 cups

1 onion, chopped
3 green peppers, chopped,
3 cloves garlic, minced
31 oz ground beef (or turkey, venison, whatever your prefer)
1 large can tomato sauce
1 small can tomato paste, mixed w/ about 8 oz of water
2 cans canned tomatoes (can use flavored)
cumin (try 2 tsp)
chili powder (try 1.5 Tbsp)
crushed red peppers (try 2 tsp)
1 can black beans
1 can kidney beans
50 black olives, chopped
Add fresh cilantro to taste
Serve each helping with 1 oz cheese, grated

In a large pot, saute onion, peppers, and garlic; at the same time, in a separate skillet, brown ground meat.
Cook veggies until onions are transparent.
When meat is cooked thoroughly, add it to the veggies, along with the tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste mixed with water, and spices.
Bring mixture to a simmer, and add beans and olives.
Reduce heat, cover, and cook for at least 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Garnish with cilantro and top with 1 oz cheese (if preferred).

1 serving = 2 cups: 378 calories, 20.4 g fat, 25.8 g carbs, 24.6 protein.
This does not include the cheese.

(If you’re following the Zone, 2 cups is the 3-block serving; 3 cups is the 5-block serving. To compare: 1/3 of the Zone Chili Recipe = 445.8 calories, 24 g fat, 34.8g carbs, and 24.6 protein; this also does not include the cheese).

Leave a Reply

