Smoothie Recipe

I’m not the type of person to wake up early in the morning and cook breakfast, though I love breakfast foods.  During the week, I need easy breakfasts…other than cold cereal, which I don’t mind, but I’m looking for something Zone friendly.  When we started the Zone, I also started making the husband and myself smoothies for breakfast.  I didn’t find a recipe I liked, so I played around until I got the smoothie the way we wanted it – thick, creamy, and fruity.  To me, it’s a lot like a smoothie you could get from one of those chain smoothie places that charge $5+ per smoothie.

 

Smoothie Recipe

Ingredients

1.5 C 2% Milk

1 C plain Greek Yogurt (I prefer Oikos)

1.5 C unsweetened Frozen Fruit

1 banana

1 scoop protein powder

 

Directions

Place all ingredients in the blender, and blend until smooth.

Makes 2 smoothies.

 

1 serving (1/2 recipe):  296.8 calories, 39.7g carbohydrates, 27g protein, 4.8g fat, 4.5g dietary fiber

 

I, personally, don’t divide up the smoothie equally though, because I try to stay around 250 calories for breakfast, and the husband needs more.

 

I’ve used all kinds of frozen fruit – strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, peaches, raspberries, and mixes.   I’ve enjoyed them all, though the raspberry banana is my favorite.

 

Leave a Reply

