Accountability

I’m going to force myself to admit something right now:  I cannot commit to P90X.

 

I start out strong, and after about a week, I fizzle.   I can make tons excuses (the workouts are too long, too intense, not what I prefer, 90 days?!? I dislike Tony Horton), but when it comes down to it, I know those are just excuses to spare me from failing.  What happens if I make it the 90 days and I don’t see the results for which I had hoped?

 

Found on Pinterest

Found on Pinterest

 

I’m going to wrestle that negative thought later and make myself commit to it sometime in the future, but in the meantime, I’m going to aim for doing some workouts that I actually enjoy every morning.  I’ve started with Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred.

 

I’ve only done it once, but here’s why I like over P90X so far:

 

It’s only a 30 day commitment vs 90.

 

The workouts combine strength training with cardio – which I like the combination.  P90X alternates days of cardio with days of strength; with the 30 Day Shred, you get it all in one day.

 

And you get cardio + strength + abs in 30 minutes.  P90X strength routines are 1 hour – and then you’re supposed to do the evil Ab Ripper X the same day, for a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes.

 

I like Jillian Michaels.  I’ve always been a fan of The Biggest Loser, though I don’t watch it regularly, and I’ve come to like her a lot.  Tony Horton, on the other hand, annoys me.

 

Plus I know that Jillian had her own weight loss transformation, losing 50 pounds before becoming a personal trainer.  I can relate to that.  Tony, on the other hand, grew up “scrawny” and changed his body by gaining muscle.  This is something my tall, thin husband can relate to, not me.

 

Found on Pinterest

Found on Pinterest

 

With 30-Day Shred, I can do all the moves (though I still have to do girly push-ups on my knees).  I’m not quite to the level I should be to start P90X – meaning I have to modify a large majority of the moves.  I know that it’s still a great workout, but it’s a little depressing to watch them do pull-ups like gravity doesn’t exist while I work those muscles with bands.

 

So I’m pretty sure that P90X would give me better results than the 30 Day Shred – even if I did it for 90 days – but I think this will spare me from burning out.  Burning out gets me no results.

 

With that being said, I plan on making daily posts for accountability for the next 30 days, which will involve me talking about what I ate and my workout.  Sorry if this gets boring, but I’ve got to do this for me.

One thought on “Accountability

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Shred Review | It's About More Than the Scale

Leave a Reply

