Reason #16

Just a little daily motivation to keep me on track.  This popped into my head this morning as I was hanging up some of the husband’s clothes, but it’s not in the one of my top reasons, so I am randomly starting with #16.

Reason #16 why I want to get in better shape:  to wear clothes from Banana Republic.

Banana Republic is my husband’s favorite store, so when he needs a new shirt or some new jeans, it’s the first place we go.  While he’s in the dressing room, I usually peruse the women’s clothing, always finding something that would be a great addition to my work wardrobe – even if I think it’s a little over priced.  I grab a few other things to make the trip to the dressing room worth my while, and go try on the clothes.  Every time, I walk out with the same realization:  Banana Republic makes clothes for women who have no curves.

Fell in love with this skirt that they had paired with a kelly green top.  Tried it on...hello, hips.  Source:  Banana Republic

Fell in love with this skirt that they had paired with a kelly green top. Tried it on…hello, hips. Source: Banana Republic

I would say 90% of their dresses, skirts, and pants have hips built in to them.  This works for a size 0 model who has no curves, but it doesn’t work for a size 12 pear shaped woman.  I do not need clothes with silhouettes that add hips – I have enough all on my own, thank you.

Fell in love with this dress from their Mad Men collection - wanted it for our rehearsal dinner.  Tried it on - YIKES.  Source:  Banana Republic

  Fell in love with this dress from their Mad Men collection – wanted it for our rehearsal dinner. Tried it on – YIKES. Source: Banana Republic

Let's be honest though - this dress really doesn't even flatter the model.  Source:  Banana Republic

Let’s be honest though – this dress really doesn’t even flatter the model. Source: Banana Republic

 

In all honesty, I’ll probably never consider them my “go-to” store like my husband – because they’re expensive and because even at my smallest, I still had curves – and I am more than okay with that.  It would just be nice to think, “ Hey, this doesn’t look horrible” instead of “Why do they hate women that have shape?!?”

 

Would be super cute for wedding season...but that silhouette says, "Don't even think about it".  Source:  Banana Republic

Would be super cute for wedding season…but that silhouette says, “Don’t even think about it”. Source: Banana Republic

Leave a comment