Reason #5

After posting about my bad weekend, I need something uplifting.

Reason #5 why I want to get in better shape:  Marathon PR

  • Number of marathons I’ve run:  1
  • Current personal record:  5:34:38.
  • Goal:  under 4 hours.
  • Number of additional marathons I’d like to run to achieve that goal:  1

I know that I have already achieved a great feat by running a marathon, but I’d REALLY like to have a better record.  Back in 2008, when I first started running for leisure, I put “run a marathon” on my list of 5 year goals – so I am very proud to have accomplished that in 2012.  However, it wasn’t pretty.  Not that running a marathon ever is – but I admittedly didn’t train like I should have and I was at my heaviest this autumn when I ran it.  I thought to myself at the time, “I will never do this again; I’ll stick with half-marathons” – but my desire to have a better PR outweighs my desire to never run another marathon.  As a favor to my body, I need to lose some pounds before trying again.  I would love to have a PR under 4 hours, but, like P. Diddy, I think I would settle for just beating Oprah.

Oprah ran the MCM 1994 in 4:29:15.  Image found via Google.

Oprah ran the MCM 1994 in 4:29:15. Image found via Google.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

