Ripped in 30: Day 3 and April Arms Challenge

This morning, I was a little crunched for time so I only did the first two circuits of Ripped in 30 Level 1 (plus the warm up and cool down).  I know, in theory it’s only 6 more minutes that I left out – but with all of Jillian’s talking in between sets, I bet it’s more like 8 minutes….plus since I had to place a hold on the DVD from library, I’m using a video I found online until it’s available, and it was stopping to buffer at least once per set.  So it was more like 10+ minutes.

It sounds like I’m feeling guilty about it since I just rationalized it, but I’m really not.  On top of Ripped in 30, I’ve been participating in the April Arms Challenge by Athena at  Fitness and Feta, and after work this afternoon, I’m going to Zumba (which I haven’t been to Zumba class in a year-and-a-half…this should be fun).  Plus, I won’t make a habit of leaving out a circuit – no matter what’s in store with the next 3 levels.

I’m feeling super sore today – pretty much everywhere…except my abs.  Glutes, thighs, back, chest, arms – all sore.  Even though the Arms Challenge has repeated moves that I’m doing in the Ripped in 30 workout (or a slightly modified version), I’m enjoying the short extra workout in the evening.  I’m trying to use heavier weights in the evening, since it’s just an arms workout and it’s quick.

On the food front, so far I like the modified meal plan.  Since I’ve already done most of the leg work ahead of time – to know what size portions to eat to be at about 400 calories per meal – I’m not tracking it Weight Watchers style.  I feel a little like a fish out of water, but I wasn’t tracking like I should have anyway. We’ll see how this month goes.

One thought on “Ripped in 30: Day 3 and April Arms Challenge

Leave a Reply

