Why I’m breaking it off with Jillian Michaels

Ever been in a relationship so long that some of the things that initially attracted you to the other person begin to be the very things that annoy you?  Like initially you may like your partner’s dedication to his/her job…but as time goes on you begin to see that as being a “workaholic”.

Don’t worry, I’m not referring to my husband here.  I’m refering to my “relationship” with Jillian Michaels…or at least her DVD’s.

While there are lots of things that I do like about her style of training (as I mentioned before), this morning I was just completely annoyed with the workout.  It was my second workout of Level 2 of Ripped in 30 – having completed the Level 1 workout 5 times last week (and completed the 30 Day Shred before that).  In the Level 1 video, she mentions that no moves will be repeated in this series.  You do regular push-ups in Level 1, and you’ll won’t do regular push-ups in the other levels.  At first I thought that would be great, but as I was working out to Level 2, I just feel like some of these moves are strictly incorporated just to have different moves.  Don’t get me wrong – they are great workouts, but if I haven’t quite mastered a push-up, I don’t feel like I should be doing crow push-ups.

I know there are all sorts of options – just do the regular push-ups or repeat Level 1 until I’m more comfortable with all the moves…but here’s what I really think:  I just need a break from Jillian for a little while.  There are a few other things that are annoying me – particularly that I don’t feel like I’m getting the strength training I desire out of these videos, my lack of desire to get up in the morning and do these, and boredom from the same style of workout over and over.  Part of me wants to push through and finish the other levels – thinking that having one bad workout is not a good enough reason to quit –  but the greater part of me thinks I will continue to half-ass the workouts, like I did this morning.  They’re just not enjoyable anymore and I have to force my way through them.

So with that being said, I am going to put Ripped in 30 on hold for a little while and do some other, more varied workouts for at least the rest of this month.  I haven’t quite figured what exactly I’ll be doing yet…but I will by tomorrow morning.  I’ll come back to Ripped in 30…when I’m not quite as annoyed.

Leave a Reply

