You are more beautiful than you think

This article was floating around my Facebook newsfeed yesterday, about how, typically, a woman’s description of herself is more harsh than a stranger’s description.  Dove hired an FBI sketch artist to draw the women as they described themselves, then draw the same woman as described by a stranger.  The women’s self described drawing often centered around the things they dislike about their appearance, and the stranger’s drawing was more beautiful and more like the women.

Source:  realbeautysketches.dove.us

Source: realbeautysketches.dove.us

The video brought me to tears.  Why are we our own harshest critic?  Why can’t we see ourselves the way other see us?

I know I am guilty of this.

One of the lines in the video says something to the effect of “we spend so much time trying to fix the things that aren’t quite right when we should spend more time appreciating the things that we do like.”

Instead of tearing ourselves apart, we need to build ourselves up.

Stop the negative nitpicking; work on positive self-esteem.

I was moved by the video, and I felt I needed to share.  I spend a lot of time thinking and blogging about my attempt to lose weight and live a healthier lifestyle.  I think a healthier perception of myself needs to be included in that.

I want to challenge anyone who reads this and struggles with this – the next time you start to tear yourself apart, instead, find something that you like about yourself and focus on that.   The next time someone pays you a compliment, accept it graciously and BELIEVE it.  The next time someone wants to take a photo with you in it, let them.

You are more beautiful than you think.

Visit realbeautysketches.dove.us for more on the article.

3 thoughts on “You are more beautiful than you think

Leave a Reply

